Skip to content

Creamy Tarragon Chicken Supreme

April 28, 2009
tags: ,

blogcreamytarragonchicken2 I think one of the things I like most about this whole learning to cook thing is the discovery of new ingredients.  For me, it’s not so much about the main ingredient, like chicken for example, it’s the stuff that goes in or on the chicken that interests me most.  The main ingredient is just the conduit for all the good stuff.  I especially like trying out new herbs.  I haven’t met one yet that I don’t like, and I just met one that I REALLY like; Tarragon.  

Tarragon offers a beautiful anise like smell (one of my other recent favorite finds is star of anise) and is the herb behind many well known sauces, like Bearnaise (which I have yet to try someday).  Now that I have a packet of fresh tarragon in my fridge I’ll have to make sure I use every last bit of it as it would be a real shame to waste.

I came across this recipe for Creamy Tarragon Chicken Supreme in the May issue of House and Home magazine. It actually calls for chicken ‘supremes’ which is breasts with the upper part of the wing attached, but I couldn’t find any so I substituted bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts instead as the recipe suggested.   

It was incredibly simple to make, and made for a pretty presentation (don’t let the picture fool you, the photo didn’t turn out so well) I would surely recomend this dish as part of a dinner party. The magazine actually offers recipes for great accompaniments, such as Spring Morel and Pea Saute that I plan on making one day soon.

 

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil

6 bone-in, skin-on chicken supremes

salt and pepper to taste

3 large shallots, sliced

1 small garlic clove

1/2 cup dry white wine

1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup 35% cream

1 tsp dijon mustard

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp all-purpose flour

1 tbsp finely chopped fresh tarragon

1.  Preheat oven to 400 F.  Heat oil in a large, wide skillet over medium-high heat.  Pat chicken try with paper towel; season with sal and pepper.  Add chicken to skillet skin side down and cook for 3-5 minutes or until deep golden.  Flip and cook another 2 minutes.  Transfer to large baking pan and bake 20 to 25 minutes, or until cooked through.

2.  Meanwhile, to make tarragon sauce, add shallots and garlic to skillet, reduce heat to medium and cook 4 minutes, or until shallots have softened.  Add wine and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until reduced by half.  Add chicken broth, bring to a boil and cook 3 mintues.  Strain, reserving liquids and discarding solids.  REturn liquids to skillet or a small pot, bring to boil and whisk in cream and dijon.

3.  Mash butter and flour together in a small bowl.  Add 1/4 cup of hot chicken broth mixture to beurre manie (french for equal parts butter and flour…a classic sauce thickening trick).  Add entire mixture back to hot chicken broth and stir until combined.  

4.  Add chopped tarragon and season with more salt and pepper.  Spoon sauce over chicken to serve.  

Serves 6

Leave a Reply

