Skip to content

The Big Mini Burger Flop

March 25, 2009

mini-burgers Not all of my kitchen trials and tribulations yield great results.  In fact, in the interest of full disclosure, more of them flop before they fly.  That’s just part of the learning process.

A few weeks ago we invited a dear friend and fellow foodie over for dinner and to watch the Oscars.  Simple finger foods were a must so as not to distract from our enjoyment of the show, but pizza and wings weren’t going to cut it.  

As I often do, I flipped through my stack of Food & Drink for inspiration.  Within the pages of the Winter 2008 issue were menu ideas for Super Bowl parties that included recipes for Mini Burgers and Fully Loaded Potato Skin Cakes. Perfect! (or so I thought)

The Mini Burger recipe calls for extra lean ground beef and lean ground pork, but I was feeling creative and opted to switch the pork for ground lamb.  I’ve had a bite of tasty lamb burgers before so I thought it would turn out well.  Has anyone else tried this combination before? it’s not good.  Beef and Lamb should never marry.   The result was a mushy patty, somewhere between a burger and a sloppy joe sandwich.  Although I carefully measured the 1/3 cup chili sauce, it overpowered the burger.  Come to think of it, that was my mistake! Lamb and sriracha? what was I thinking?

 The recipe for the Fully Loaded Potato Skin Cakes say you can make ahead and simply reheat in the oven.  I was up until 2 a.m chopping, boiling, mashing and frying (oh, and sampling too) When fresh out of the fry pan, the cakes were a delicious golden brown, perfectly crisp on the outside.  Inside, the pillow of hot mashed potatoes, flakes of sharp melted cheese and salty crumbled bacon performed a little dance on my tongue.    But the next day? limp.  Limp and soggy.  Coming out of the oven the cakes actually almost looked as they were covered in a film of sweat (looking at them, I started to break out in one!)  The golden crispy cakes from the night before were nothing but a distant memory.  What an utter disappointment.  If there is one thing I have learned so far it’s this: always take a recipe for a test drive before subjecting anyone else (other than your husband) to it.

So, Jess….honey…to you and your taste buds, I apologize.  Please, forgive me?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 1:57 am

    Food and Drink is totally inspiring, anyone (well at least all girls I know) that goes to the LCBO is always looking out for the new one! We flip through the pages (before we even leave the parking lot) and get excited about the recipes, and just like you, think – oh that’s perfect for my get together! And we dive right in – totally confident we can do this. For the most part we can, but like you experimented, you get caught up in the excitement to add a bit of this and a bit of that, to of course ‘make it your own’ – and sometimes it just doesn’t work. But don’t apologize – this is what your blog is about – learning and having fun doing it – the fact that you were up til 2am making this recipe for friends is what it’s all about! The passion for food and gathering of friends! Well done – love your blog! 🙂

  2. Sarah Cox permalink
    April 2, 2009 4:41 pm

    I love your sense of humor and earnestness in your writing! Very entertaining Tammy!

  3. April 3, 2009 3:02 pm

    Your tale reminds me of the time I tried to make beef bourguignon and was too impatient to wait for the sauce to thicken – actually I assumed I’d done something wrong – so I added more flour (or some flour? can’t recall the recipe) to get it to thicken and I wound up with beef in glue sauce.

    As you were I was also cooking for a guest and didn’t do a trial run beforehand. But it was for an ex-boyfriend’s birthday so now I’m thinking that all worked out just fine!

Leave a Reply

