Skip to content

Moishe’s Pickles

March 22, 2009
tags: ,

moishespicklesMoishe’s  is a legendary Montreal steakhouse that has been serving up hungry carnivores since 1938.  This family run restaurant is more typically revered as a Montreal institution and consistently appears in the food and travel pages of many publications.  Sadly, I know little of which I speak.  I have never been to Moishe’s, however I sense a spring/summer trip to Montreal is in my near future and I will be sure that a visit to the celebrated chophouse is on my itinerary.  

Why am I so keen on paying a visit to this establishment? because it is the birthplace of my favorite pickle!.  If they do steaks like they do pickles, I think I’m in for a treat.  The kosher dill pickles in the cloudy brine are perfectly crisp and elevate the humble cucumber to gourmet proportions with the right mix of dill, garlic (I think) and other spices that fire up my taste buds.  My favorite way to enjoy a Moishe’s pickle is straight out of the jar, alongside a slice of toasted dark rye bread with cream cheese or swimming in a spicy Caesar. Mmmm mmmmm.  

Moishes pickles are sold at the Queens Quay Loblaws in the refrigerated aisle alongside Strubs and other premium pickle brands.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 10:13 pm

    Hello from Hamilton Ontario! Great Blog. I will be checking back!

  2. August 18, 2010 2:51 pm

    These are my favorite bread and butter pickles. They are what grandma would have made: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/your-classic-bread-and-butter-pickles-2/

    • Tammy permalink*
      January 14, 2011 2:51 am

      Great blog Michael! I will have to try your pickle recipe. I also found a new favorite store bought pickle: Tymeks home made (hot) pickles from Starsky’s. Yum!

  3. Brian Baker permalink
    July 23, 2017 11:00 pm

    Best pickles ever. Reminds of the Kosher Garlic Dill Pickles that were served at Carmen’s Restaurant near the old Maple Leaf Gardens on Carlton Street. Available at Waterloo Costco at an amazing price. Fantastic taste & great value.

Leave a Reply

