Skip to content

Thank heavens for online tutorials!

March 12, 2009
tags: ,

mandolineDoes anyone out there own and use a mandoline? were you as stymied as I was the first few times you tried to use it? Mine was on the verge of being commited to a permanent hiding place deep inside the recesses of my cupboard (not to mention my brain) when I found a helpful little online demonstration at Finecooking.com.  Thankfully, Sarah demonstrates how to julienne carrots and actually makes it look pretty simple.  I guess my mistake was putting the whole carrot, fat end first into the food handler and tried to slice it by pointing the skinny end down toward the blade.  I’m a little embarrassed for myself…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 11:55 pm

    And you have to watch you don’t slice your fingers off when you change the blades! I love what it does but I hate setting it up. I made sweet potato fries one day but forgot how little water is actually in a sweet potato and with its rock-like density it took all my strength and about 20x the time it takes to do regular fries!

Leave a Reply

