Skip to content

Hot and Sour

March 3, 2009
tags: ,

shitakeMy other passion besides brussels sprouts is spicy food.  
I also love soup. I love to eat it, I love to make it.  So when I came across a recipe for Hot and Sour soup in my Martha Stewart cookbook, I just had to give it a shot. 
Like many of the other recipes I’ve tried in this cookbook, it was incredibly easy to follow (especially for a novice such as myself) and turned out really great.  In fact I loved it so much I decided to share it with my family.  This may not sound like a big deal, but consider this: my family has never tasted tofu before nor have they seen ginger (!), so I had to be pretty confident to pull this off.  
I had them lining up for seconds!
HOT AND SOUR SOUP

Serves 4
2 cans (14.5 ounces each) reduced sodium chicken broth

2 tbsps soy sauce1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

8 ounces fresh shitake mushrooms, stemmed, caps thinly sliced

3-4 tbsps rice vinegar

2 tbsps cornstarch1 large egg, lightly beaten

1/2 package soft or firm tofu, drained well, cut into cubes

2 tbsp finely grated fresh ginger

3 scallions thinly sliced
1.  In a large (5 -quart) pot, combine the borth, soy sauce, red pepper flakes and 2 cups water.  Bring to a boil over medium heat.  Add the mushrooms, reduce the heat and simmer until tender, about 10 mins.
2.  In a small bowl, whisk together 3 tbsps of the vinegar and the cornstarch.  Add to the pot; simmer, stirring, until the soup is thickened, about 1 minute.
3.  Add the egg through a slotted spoon, and stir to form ribbons.  Stir in the tofu.  Remove from the heat; let stand, covered, for 1 minute.  Put the giner in a small sieve, and squeeze to release its juice into the soup (discard solids).  Taste; add the remaining tbsp vinegar is desired.  Serve sprinkled with the scallions.

Leave a Reply

