Skip to content

I heart brussels sprouts

February 21, 2009
tags:

 

brusselsprouts2I mean I really love them.  One of the many reasons Tomi Kro is my favorite restaurant is due in large part to their unique take on Brussels Sprouts, served as a slaw with crispy morsels of pancetta and lots of buttery asiago.  The saltiness of the pancetta, and the slighty sweet milky texture of the asiago is a perfect foil for bitter brussels.  So,  off I went in search of a recipe that I could try at home.  

I made a few variations to the recipe myself, as I found it was a bit too greasy the first time I made it.  So, the next time I omitted the oil, as the pancetta is fatty enough to cook on its own and once the pancetta is done you can cook the brussels in the grease left over from the pancetta.  Less oily, more tasty.  I didn’t have cashews on hands, so I toasted some sesame seeds and used those instead. YUM! 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

